SABS Certification

ISO 9001 – Quality Management Standard

What is it?

– is the internationally recognised standard for the quality management of businesses.
– applies to the processes that create and control the products and services an organisation supplies.
– prescribes systematic control of activities to ensure that the needs and expectations of customers are met.
– is designed and intended to apply to virtually any product or service, made by any process anywhere in the world.

ISO 9001:2008

ISO 9001:2008 sets out the criteria for a quality management system and is the only standard in the family that can be certified to (although this is not a requirement). It can be used by any organization, large or small, regardless of its field of activity. In fact ISO 9001:2008 is implemented by over one million companies and organizations in over 170 countries.

Quality Management Principles
The standard is based on a number of quality management principles including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continual improvement. Using ISO 9001:2008 helps ensure that customers get consistent, good quality products and services, which in turn brings many business benefits.

Checking that the system works is a vital part of ISO 9001:2008. An organization must perform internal audits to check how its quality management system is working.

Somta’s copies of SABS Certificates available:

Current: ISO 9001: 2008 valid 26 November 2015 to 15 September 2018
ISO 9001: 2008 valid 7 November 2012 to 17 November 2015
ISO 9001: 2008 valid 18 November 2009 to 17 November 2012
ISO 9001: 2000 valid 8 November 2006 to 7 November 2009